Thursday, January 23, 2020

Call for Papers: 18th ANNUAL INTERNATIONAL INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATION CONFERENCE Drexel University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania May 1-3, 2020

Drexel University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
May 1-3, 2020
The deadline for paper submissions is January 29, 2020.
The 2020 International Industrial Organization Conference, sponsored by the Industrial
Organization Society and its affiliated journal, the Review of Industrial Organization, will be 
held May 1-3 at Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The conference will include panel discussions and contributed sessions on all topics in industrial organization including antitrust economics and regulation. 
We are pleased to announce that Margaret Slade will receive the Distinguished Service Award and that Michael Riordan will receive the Distinguished Fellow Award.

The conference will also include two plenary sessions:
  • Mark Armstrong (Oxford) and Alessandro Gavazza (London School of Economics) will discuss their contributions to theoretical and empirical research on search and matching markets.
  • Jean-Francoise Houde (Wisconsin) and Jakub Kastl (Princeton) will provide an overview of research on the industrial organization of banks and financial markets.
To submit a paper, please visit:

Paper submissions through the web link above will be accepted through January 29, 2020
There is no submission fee.  Decisions will be announced by February 21, 2020.  Paper 
presenters must register by March 3, 2020.  Non-presenters may register up to April 20, 2020. There will be no on-site registration.

Again this year, the Industrial Organization Society is pleased to award the following two prizes which include an honorarium of $2,500.  To be considered for one of the prizes, completed papers must be uploaded to the conference web site by January 29, 2020.
  • The 12th annual University of Florida Robert F. Lanzillotti Prize will be awarded for the best paper in antitrust economics.
  • The 12th annual University of Florida Public Utility Research Center Prize will be awarded for the best paper in regulatory economics
RISING STAR SESSIONS:  The Friday evening session will be devoted to the best graduate students presenting their research. Session chairs and discussants will be established Industrial Organization scholars. All graduate students are encouraged to submit their papers to these highly select sessions which offer a great opportunity to receive feedback on one's work and to meet with established researchers in the field. Graduate students must submit only to the Rising Star/Graduate Student session area.
SPONSORED SESSIONS:  This year there will be several sessions devoted to frontier topics that are jointly selected by the IOS Board and a company working on issues related to Industrial Organization. You may apply directly to present in one of these sessions, but all conference submissions related to these topics will be considered for inclusion in these sessions. Papers will be independently selected by the Program Committee. 
To date, session sponsors include Matrix Economics, Microsoft Research, Analysis Group, Google, Charles River Associates, Cornerstone, Amazon and NERA Economic Consulting. Sponsored session topics as of this date include:
  • Antitrust Issues in Health Care (Analysis Group)
  • The impact of artificial intelligence, big data and technology automation on organizations, markets, and the future of work (Microsoft)
  • The Value of Data (Google)
  • New Research in Antitrust Economics (Cornerstone)
CONFERENCE GUIDELINES:  Accepted papers are to be presented by the individual submitting the paper.  Paper acceptances are also conditional on the submitter's willingness to serve as a discussant in another session of the conference. If you wish to propose a full session, contact the Program Chair, Federico Ciliberto at [email protected].
PROGRAM COMMITTEE:   The Program Committee is chaired by Federico Ciliberto, University of Virginia.
Panle Jia Barwick (Cornell University), Matthew Backus (Columbia University), Emek Basker (US Census Bureau), Jay Choi (Michigan State University), Robert Clark (Queens University), Alon Eizenberg (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Silke Forbes (Tufts University), Matthew Grennan (University of Pennsylvania), Jean Francois Houde (University of Wisconsin), Jordi Jaumandreu, (Boston University), Myrto Kalouptsidi (Harvard University), Elena Krasnotskaya (John Hopkins University), Margaret Kyle (Center for Industrial Economics, MINES ParisTech), Matthew Lewis (Clemson University), Eugenio Miravete (University of Texas at Austin), Nathan Miller (Georgetown University), Eduardo Morales (Princeton University), Mar Reguant (Northwestern University), Seth Richards-Shubik (Lehigh University), Mark Roberts (Penn State University), Henry Schneider (Queens University), Katja Seim (Yale University), Konstantinos Serfes (Drexel University), Gloria Sheu (Federal Reserve Board), Michelle Sovinsky (University of Mannheim), Yossi Spiegel (Tel Aviv University), Otto Toivanen (Aalto University), Sofia Berto Villa-Boas (UC Berkeley), Nathan Wilson (FTC), and Mo Xiao (University of Arizona).

The conference website will provide updated registration, hotel and schedule information. The preliminary conference program will be posted there by April 3, 2020.
We look forward to receiving your submissions and to seeing you in Philly.
Best wishes for a Happy New Year!
Federico Ciliberto
Program Committee Chair
Kathy Downey
IIOC Conference Coordinator

| Permalink


Post a comment