Thursday, February 27, 2014

GCR Awards 2014 - Vote Now


The nominees are: 

Team awards

Matter of the Year

AB InBev/Grupo Modelo


Thermo Fisher/Life Technologies

Toshiba’s victory against Best Buy in LCD trial

US Airways/American Airlines

Merger Control Matter of the Year – Americas

Aetna/Coventry Health Care, US

Cinemark/Cinemex, Mexico

Office Depot/Office Max, US

Oxiteno/Uruguayan American Chemical, Brazil

Warner Chilcott/Actavis, US

Merger Control Matter of the Year – Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa

Marubeni/Gavilon, China

Mediatek/MStar, China

Ultratech Cement/Jaypee Cement, India

Virgin Australia/Tiger Airways, Australia

Merger Control Matter of the Year – Europe


Aer Lingus/Ryanair


Nynas purchase of Shell's Hamburg refinery 

Behavioural Matter of the Year – Americas

Defence of Visa/Mastercard before Competition Tribunal

Defence of Peter Grimm, Dominick Carollo and Steven Goldberg in Municipal Bonds case

Defence of Richard Bai in AUO price fixing trial

Defence of Toronto Real Estate Board before Competition Tribunal

Behavioural Matter of the Year – Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa

Defence in mortgage price-fixing case, Australia

Defence in aluminium phosphate tablet case, India

Defence of Daum in abuse of dominance case, Korea

Arcelor Mittal/Cape Gate access to file success, South Africa

Behavioural Matter of the Year – Europe

Eurotunnel CAT appeal

French water investigation

Libor - Defence of Barclays and UBS

OFT’s hotel bookings case

Wabco General Court appeal

Litigation of the Year

TFT-LCD (Flat Panel) antitrust litigation: Best Buy v HannStar Display and Toshiba

In Re Cathode Ray Tube (CRT) antitrust litigation

Freight Fuel Surcharge Antitrust Litigation before the US Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

AkzoNobel/Metlac before the UK Competition Appeal Tribunal

Cartel Damage Claims v Holcim before the District Court of Düsseldorf

German Rail Cartel - Follow-on Litigation 

Individuals' awards

Lawyer of the Year

Antoine Winckler - Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Christine Varney - Cravath Swaine & Moore

Deirdre Trapp - Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer 

Ilene Knable Gotts - Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz

Michael Egge - Latham & Watkins 

Paul Denis - Dechert

Richard Parker - O'Melveny & Myers

Steven Sunshine - Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom

Lawyer of the Year - 40 and under

Alastair Chapman - Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Amanda Reeves - Latham & Watkins

Ana Paula Martinez - Levy & Salomao

Casey Halladay - McMillan

Claire Jeffs - Slaughter and May

Leonor Cordovil - Grinberg Cordovil

Pierre Zelenko - Linklaters

Warren Rosborough - McDermott Will & Emery

Economist of the Year

Carl Shapiro - Charles River Associates

Christina Caffara - Charles River Associates

David Dranove - Bates White

Dennis Carlton - Compass Lexecon

Helen Jenkins - Oxera

Peter Boberg - Charles River Associates

Corporate Counsel of the Year

Adam Eaton - Visa

Calvin Park - Qualcomm Korea

Christoph Klahold - ThyssenKrupp

Dina Kallay - Ericsson 

Howard Kass - US Airways (American Airlines)

Kent Walker - Google

Academic Excellence Award

Damien Geradin

Daniel Sokol

C Scott Hemphill

Gregory Sidak

John Vickers

Article of the year 

A Paul Victor, Seth C Farber and Brandon Duke, “The Policy Case for Eliminating The Public Identification of Carve-Outs In Antitrust Plea Agreements"

Herbert Hovenkamp, "Anticompetitive Patent Settlements and the Supreme Court's Actavis Decision"

John D Harkrider, "Seeing the Forest through the SEPs"

Joshua D Wright and Judge Douglas H Ginsburg, "The Goals of Antitrust: Welfare Trumps Choice"

Enforcement awards

Agency of the Year – Americas

Brazil’s CADE

Chile's National Economic Prosecutor

Ecuador's Superintendency for the Control of Market Power

US Department of Justice’s antitrust division

US Federal Trade Commission

Agency of the Year – Asia-Pacific, Middle East & Africa

Australian Competition & Consumer Commission

China's National Development & Reform Commission

Competition Commission of India 

Japan’s Fair Trade Commission

Korea's Fair Trade Commission

Agency of the Year – Europe

European Commission’s Directorate General of Competition

France’s Competition Authority

Germany’s Federal Cartel Office

Norway’s Competition Authority

Poland's Office of Competition and Consumer Protection 

Enforcement Matter of the Year

European Commission fines Lundbeck

DoJ Auto Parts

Germany’s investigation of Amazon Marketplace

Supreme Court Actavis decision

United States v Apple

United States v Bazaarvoice

Firm awards 

Regional firm of the year – Europe

Bredin Prat 

Gide Loyrette Nouel

Gleiss Lutz

Hengeler Mueller


Uría Menéndez 

Regional firm of the year – Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and Africa

Amarchand & Mangaldas & Suresh A Shroff & Co

Anderson Mori & Tomotsune

Edward Nathan Sonnenbergs

Gilbert + Tobin

Kim & Chang

Regional firm of the year - Americas 

Axinn Veltrop & Harkrider

Blake Cassels & Graydon

Grinberg Cordovil 


Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi 

Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference GCR Awards 2014 - Vote Now:


Post a comment