Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Calling All Antitrust/ Competition Law and Economics Professors: Join the ABA Antitrust Section

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol

This is the first of what will be periodic pleas for greater involvement by the academic community in the US and elsewhere in the ABA Antitrust Section.

In my capacity as Vice Chair of the Membership Committee of the ABA Section of Antitrust Law, I am writing to encourage you to join in the Section if you are not yet a member. The Section is a wonderful vehicle to engage in a broader academic and policy community on the issues of antitrust and consumer protection.

The Antitrust Section is the leading professional organization for those interested in the fields of antitrust and competition law, trade regulation, consumer protection and economics. Our more than 8,000 members include attorneys and non-lawyers from private law firms, in-house counsel, non-profit organizations, consulting firms, federal and state government agencies, as well as judges, professors and law students. We provide an outstanding assortment of programs, publications, discussion groups and timely updates on recent developments in all facets of antitrust and consumer protection law. Our members also have opportunities to join or participate in 25 substantive committees.

A number of professors serve in a leadership capacity in the Section. The list includes: Jon Baker (American University Law), Roger Blair (University of Florida Economics) Steve Calkins (Wayne State Law), Ned Cavanaugh (St. John’s Law), Dan Crane (University of Michigan Law), Tammy Feldman (University of Michigan Business), Harry First (NYU Law) Andy Gavil (Howard Law), Louis Kaplow (Harvard Law), Tom Kauper (Michigan Law), Ben Klein (UCLA Economics), Marina Lao (Seton Hall Law), Mark Lemley (Stanford Law), Christopher Leslie (UC Irvine Law), John Lopatka (Penn State Law), Bill Page (Florida Law), Chris Sprigman (Virginia Law), Danny Sokol (University of Florida Law), Val Suslow (Michigan Business), Spencer Weber Waller (Chicago Loyola Law), Joshua Wright (George Mason Law), and Dennis Yao (Harvard Business).

The Section also welcomes increased non-US academic involvement in membership and programming.

To join, click here.

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Calling All Antitrust/ Competition Law and Economics Professors: Join the ABA Antitrust Section:


Post a comment