Thursday, July 31, 2008

Fordham 2008 Annual Conference on International Antitrust Law & Policy

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol

The speaker's list for the  Fordham Annual Conference on International Antitrust Law & Policy (this year September 25-26) is now available.

Thursday, September 25

Dean William Treanor, Fordham University School of Law

Settlements under EU Competition Law
Neelie Kroes, EU Commissioner for Competition, Brussels

Jean-Francois Bellis (Presider), Van Bael & Bellis, Brussels
Almudena Arpón de Mendívil y Aldama,  Gomez-Acebo & Pombo, Abogados, S.L., Madrid
Alberto PeraGianni, Prigoni, Grippo & Partners, Rome

Coffee Break

Merger Control in the EU: Evidentiary Issues and Burden of Proof
Nicholas Levy Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, Brussels

Mergers and the Courts in the U.S.
Steven C. Sunshine, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, Washington

Nigel Parr (Presider), Ashurst LLP, London
Diane Wood,  U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, Chicago


International Antitrust: Recent Developments and Trends
Thomas O. Barnett, Assistant Attorney General, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington
Philip Lowe, Director General, European Commission, Brussels

A. Paul Victor (Presider),  Dewey Ballantine LLP, New York
Pieter Kalbfleisch,  Chairman of the Board, Netherlands Competition Authority, Netherlands
Eduardo Perez Motta,  President, Mexico´s Federal Competition Commission, Mexico City
Sheridan Scott, Commissioner, Competition Bureau Canada, Gatineau
Kazuhiko Takeshima,  Chairman, Japan Fair Trade Commission, Toyko
Mona Yassine, President, Egyptian Competition Authority, Cairo


Friday, September 26

Chilling Effects of Antitrust Law
Paul Lugard (Presider),  Philips, Eindhoven
Mary E. Bartkus,  Merck & Co., Whitehouse Station
Hendrik Bourgeois,  General Electric, Brussels
John Fingleton,  Chief Executive Officer, Office of Fair Trading, London
David Lewis,  South African Competition Tribunal, Sunnyside
Daniel L. Rubinfeld,  Robert L. Bridges Professor of Law and Professor of Economics, University of California, Berkeley


Exploitative Abuses
Frederic Jenny (Presider),  Judge, Commercial, Economic & Financial Law Chamber, Paris
Paul S. Crampton,  Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP, Toronto
William  Kovacic,  Chairman, Federal Trade Commission, Washington
David Lewis,  South African Competition Tribunal, Sunnyside
Lucas Peeperkorn,  DG Competition, European Commission, Brussels
Alexander Riesenkampff,  Schulte Riesenkampff, Frankfurt
Gregory J. Werden, Senior Economic Counsel, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Fordham 2008 Annual Conference on International Antitrust Law & Policy:


Post a comment