Wednesday, April 18, 2007

William E. Swope Antitrust Prize Awarded

Posted by D. Daniel Sokol

Jones Day has just announced the winner of the annual $10,000 William E. Swope writing competition prize for law school and recent graduates.  I am happy to report that a University of Chicago student, Justin Hurwitz won this year's competition.  Justin's piece, The Value of Patents in Industry Standards: Avoiding License Arbitrage with Voluntary Rules, addresses standard-setting competition issues in the antitrust-IP interface.  There were two runner up prizes.  One went to Christopher Grengs, an Attorney Advisor at the Federal Trade Commission.  His piece is entitled Verizon v. Trinko: From Post-Chicago Antitrust to Resource-Advantage Competition.   Another runner up was Oliver Zhong, a second-year student at the University of Michigan Law School.  Zhong's work  addresses The Failing Company Defense After the Commentary: Let It Go.

According to the Jones Day press release:

The third year of the William E. Swope Writing Competition is now underway. The contest is open to all students currently enrolled in a full-time or part-time Juris Doctorate or more advanced degree program at a law school accredited by AALS (or a law school of equivalent standing if outside the U.S.), to current judicial clerks who have graduated from such a program, and to practicing lawyers who graduated from such degree programs in May 2002 or later.

More on the competition and its rules is available here.

To plug the top tier Antitrust practice at Jones Day even more, I am happy to report that Bruce MacDonald has recently joined Jones Day from DOJ, where he served as the Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Antitrust Division with responsibility over regulated industries.  In two weeks, Bruce will guest lecture at my seminar on buyer power issues.  Because it has been a number of years since Bruce has had to fill out time sheets, I have put Bruce's participation in law firm terminology-- 1.0 hours speech (non-billable).

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference William E. Swope Antitrust Prize Awarded:


Post a comment