Sunday, September 8, 2013

Call for Award Nominations for AALS Academic Support Section

On behalf of Joyce Herleth, Chair of the Awards Committee for the Academic Support Section of AALS:

The Awards Committee for the AALS Section on Academic
Support is soliciting nominations for our section award.  The Association
of American Law Schools Section on Academic Support’s Award will be presented
at the January 2014 AALS meeting and will be awarded to an outstanding member
of the ASP community.  Please review the eligibility and criteria
information below and send nominations directly to Awards Committee Chair, Joyce
Savio Herleth
via email
The deadline to submit nominations is October 1, 2013 at 5pm PDT
For a nomination to be considered, it must include (at a minimum) a one to two
paragraph explanation of why the nominee is deserving of the award.  Only
AALS ASP Section members may make nominations, but all those within the ASP
community may be nominated.  Membership in the section is free and can be
processed within minutes at AALS Section Membership.  For detailed
instructions on how to become a member, please view this page:

Eligibility and Criteria for Selection.  The
eligible nominees for the Award will be Section members and any other
individuals who have made significant or long-term contributions to the
development of the field of law student academic support.  All legal
educators, regardless of the nature or longevity of their appointment or position,
who have at some point in their careers worked part-time or full-time in
academic support are eligible for the Award.  The Award will be granted to
recognize those who have made such contributions through any combination of the
following activities:  assumption of leadership roles in the ASP
community; support to and mentoring of colleagues; service to institutions,
including but not limited to schools, the ASP Section, and to other
organizations; expansion of legal opportunities to traditionally underserved
segments of society; teaching and presenting; and scholarship, both traditional
and creative. 

Law schools, institutions, or organizations cannot receive
an award.  Prior year or current year Section officers are excluded from
being selected as an award winner.

Meetings | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Call for Award Nominations for AALS Academic Support Section:


Post a comment