Wills, Trusts & Estates Prof Blog

Editor: Gerry W. Beyer
Texas Tech Univ. School of Law

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Common Law Marriage Not Common

LawWhen combined, the states that allow for common law marriage in some form are in the minority. Even when including states that expressly allow common law marriage by statute or case law, and those that recognize common law marriages that were entered into under now repealed statutes. Eight states expressly allow for common law marriage by statute under various circumstances and restrictions, including Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah.

See, Common Law Marriage by State, NCSL, August 4, 2014.


Estate Planning - Generally | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Common Law Marriage Not Common:


Post a comment