Sunday, March 2, 2014
As I have previously discussed, on February 21, 2014 a news release stated Facebook has come up with a new way for users to cope with death. When a user dies, the mourners can request that the account be memorialized. The memorialized page used to be available only to the deceased's Facebook friends. Now, memorialized accounts will be left on the same privacy setting the user had on the account. An additional change mentioned in the news release is the ability for a Facebook friend of the deceased to submit a "Look Back" movie request for the deceased's account. This option is only available after the account of the deceased has been memorialized. The new "Look Back" feature has been available since February 4, 2014.
See Jim Lamm, Facebook Updates Its Policies For Deceased Users, Digital Passing, Feb. 26, 2014.
Special thanks to Brian Cohan (Attorney at Law, Law Offices of Brian J. Cohan, P.C.) for bringing this article to my attention.