TortsProf Blog

Editor: Christopher J. Robinette
Widener Commonwealth Law School

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Nominations for the 2012 Prosser Award

The Torts and Compensation Systems section of the American Association of Law Schools (AALS) is soliciting nominations for the William L. Prosser Award for 2012.  The award "recognize[s] outstanding contributions of law teachers in scholarship, teaching and service in ... torts and compensation systems ...."   The three most recent distinguished recipients are Honorable Guido Calabresi, Oscar Gray, and Dan Dobbs.  Past recipients also include luminaries such as Leon Green, Wex Malone, and John Wade.

Any law professor is eligible to nominate another law professor for the award.  Nominators can renew past nominations by resubmitting past nominations in a timely manner.  Selection of the recipient will be made by members of the Executive Committee of the Torts and Compensation Systems Section, based on the recommendation of a special selection committee.  The announcement of the award will be made at the annual AALS meeting in January, 2012.   

Nominations, accompanied by a brief supporting statement (required), should be submitted to Prof. Jennifer Wriggins, Secretary, AALS Torts and Compensation Section, either by regular mail or e-mail at  Nominations must be received no later than 5 pm eastern time (U.S.) on Tuesday, July 5, 2011.  E-mail submissions at are preferred.   If you prefer to mail the nominations, please send them to the address below:

Prof. Jennifer Wriggins

Sumner T. Bernstein Professor of Law

University of Maine School of Law

246 Deering Avenue

Portland, ME 04102


TortsProfs | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Nominations for the 2012 Prosser Award:


Post a comment