« Science and/or Religion | Main | The Supreme Court and Science »

December 4, 2006

Judicature and Scientific Evidence

The most recent volume of Judicature has an interesting series of articles on a range of science and law related topics, including one by our own Ed Cheng.  The full volume can be found HERE. 

The list of articles follows:

Should Judges do independent research on scientific issues 
by Edward K. Cheng, an associate professor at Brooklyn Law School (edward.cheng@brooklaw.edu).

Appellate courts must conduct independent research of Daubert issues to discover "junk science" 
by Michael E. Keasler, a judge on the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals (michael.keasler@cca.courts.state.tx.us) and Cathy Kramer, a staff attorney at the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals..

Appellate courts should resist the temptation to conduct their own independent research on scientific issues, by Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals (Sharon.Keller@cca.courts.state.tx.us) and Donald Cimics, a research attorney at the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals.

Independent research on scientific issues by judges must be carefully weighed and considered
by George Marlow, an associate justice, New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division, and co-chair of the New York State Advisory Committee on Judicial Ethics (gmarlow@courts.state.ny.us).

Virginia's answer to Daubert's question behind the question 
by D. Arthur Kelsey, a judge on the Court of Appeals of Virginia, and formerly a judge of the Fifth Judicial Circuit of Virginia.

Questioning judges about their decisions: Supreme Court nominees before the Senate Judiciary Committee, by Margaret Williams, an assistant professor in the Department of Political Science at Goucher College (margaret.williams@goucher.edu) and Lawrence Baum, a professor in the Department of Political Science at The Ohio State University (baum.4@osu.edu).

Meeting the challenge of educating court managers
by Roger E. Hartley, an assistant professor of public administration and policy, and assistant professor of law (adjunct), and c0-director, Law, Criminal Justice, and Security Program, at the University of Arizona (rhartley@arizona.edu) and Kevin Bates, fiscal analyst for the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, Arizona State Legislature.

How we can improve the reliability of fingerprint identification 
by Michael Cherry, president of Cherry Biometrics, which designs identification systems. He is Vice Chair, Digital Technology Committee, National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (NACDL) (mcherry@cherrybiometrics.com) and Edward Imwinkelried, the Edward L. Barrett, Jr. Professor at the University of California, Davis, School of Law (ejimwinkelried@law.ucdavis.edu).

December 4, 2006 | Permalink

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341bfae553ef00d8356ef91969e2

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Judicature and Scientific Evidence:

Comments

Post a comment