Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Doris Duke Charitable Foundation Announces 2008 Grant Selections

The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation on Sunday announced that it has selected six mid-career physician-scientists to receive its 2008 Distinguished Clinical Scientist Awards.  The awards provide recipients with $1.5 million each over five to seven years.

According to a press release from the Foundation, "The Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award recognizes outstanding leadership in clinical research and enables leading physician-scientists to continue bridging the crucial gap between biomedical research and clinical applications that improve human health."  The release went on to state that the research aims proposed by the 2008 awardees "reflect the breadth of the work supported by the program, ranging from therapies for macular degeneration to recurrent gene fusions and translocations in a variety of tumors."

This year's awardees are: Sunil K. Ahuja, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Marcus Altfeld, MD, Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School; Jayakrishna Ambati, MD, University of Kentucky College of Medicine; Arul M. Chinnaiyan, MD, Ph.D., University of Michigan; Terrie Inder, MD, Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis/St. Louis Children’s Hospital; and Eric Vilian, MD, Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles.



In the News | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Doris Duke Charitable Foundation Announces 2008 Grant Selections:


Post a comment