Sunday, December 24, 2017

Congratulations to Sabrina DeFabritis (Suffolk) and Suzanna K. Moran (Denver), Outgoing and Incoming Chairs of the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research

Sabrina DeFabritisProfessor Sabrina DeFabritiis of Suffolk University Law School (picutred at left) is about to finish her 2017-18 term as Chair of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research. As Section Chair Professor DeFabritiis has overseen the Section's committees, programs, and awards.

Suzanna Moran Denver AALS LWRR ChairProfessor Suzanna K. Moran of the University of Denver Sturm College of Law (pictured at right) is the incoming Chair for 2018-19. She will assume that role at the upcoming AALS Annual Meeting in San Diego, which his being held from January 3-6, 2018. Professor Moran is the Hartje & Reese Chair in Lawyering Process and Professor of the Practice at the University of Denver Sturm College of Law.

While still in law school she began her career as a legal editor for The Yearbook of International Environmental Law. She edited that publication for seven years, working with leading environmental lawyers from around the world. She later became a staff attorney at the Environmental Law Institute in Washington, D.C., where she wrote and edited for ELR—The Environmental Law Reporter for four years.

Professor Moran then left the field of professional writing and editing for private practice. She represented both plaintiffs and defendants in a variety of litigation matters related to natural resources, environmental law, and real estate.

In 2005, she returned to editing when she became Director of Publications at the Denver Art Museum. She was responsible for the editorial content and quality of the museum’s written materials and managed a staff of eight editors and graphic designers.

In her secret life, Professor Moran performs with the Jefferson Symphony Orchestra. We'll have to ask her which instrument she plays. Her other interests include all manner of outdoor activities, reading, movies, beating back the encroaching wilderness of her backyard, and playing MMORPGs (that's the acronym for massively multiplayer online role-playing games).

Chartered on January 1, 1974, the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research promotes the communication of ideas, interests, and activities among the members of the Section; reports on the status of legal research and writing; and makes recommendations on matters concerning law school administration and matters of interest in the teaching and improvement of law school curriculum.

Wendy-Adele Humphrey Texas TechProfessor Wendy Adele Humphrey of Texas Tech University School of Law (pictured at right) is the current Secretary of the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research. She is expected to become the Section Chair-Elect at the 2018 AALS Annual Meeting. She would then become Section Chair in 2019-20 during the 2019 AALS Annual Meeting, which will be held in New Orleans.

The members of the Section's 2017-18 Executive Committee (in addition to the Section Officers) are:

  • Robert Brain, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
  • Rebekah N. Hanley, University of Oregon School of Law
  • Allison D. Martin, Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
  • Joseph Mastrosimone, Washburn University School of Law
  • Anne Mullins, University of North Dakota School of Law
  • Nancy J. Soonpaa, Texas Tech University School of Law

Mark E. Wojcik (mew)

| Permalink


Post a comment