Sunday, June 25, 2017

Nominations for AALS Section Award for Significant Lifetime Contributions to Legal Writing and Research

As announced in the Section Newsletter for the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research, the Section is pleased to solicit nominations for the 2017 Section Award for the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research. This prestigious award recognizes individuals who have made a significant lifetime contribution to the field of legal writing and research. The award was created at the AALS Section Business Meeting in January 1995 and conferred for the first time in January 1996 at the AALS Annual Meeting. The award has sometimes been described as the "Lifetime Achievement Award in Legal Writing Education."

The 2017 AALS Section award
will be presented at the AALS  Annual Meeting in San Francisco on Thursday, January 5, 2017, during the section luncheon.  That event is a ticketed event.

Past winners of the AALS Section Award include:

  • 2017 - Linda Berger (UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law)
  • 2016 - Suzanne Rowe (Oregon)
  • 2015 - Mark E. Wojcik (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago)
  • 2014 - Jan Levine (Duquesne)
  • 2013 - Terrill Pollman (UNLV) and Jill Ramsfield (Hawaii) [two winners that year]
  • 2012 - Susan Brody (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago) and Mary Barnard Ray (Wisconsin) [two winners that year]
  • 2011 - Elizabeth Fajans (Brooklyn)
  • 2010 - Joe Kimble (Thomas Cooley)
  • 2009 - Richard K. Neumann, Jr. (Hofstra)
  • 2008 - Eric Easton (Baltimore)
  • 2007 - Anne Enquist (Seattle)
  • 2006 - Terri LeClerq (Texas)
  • 2005 - Marilyn Walter (Brooklyn)
  • 2003 - Laurel Currie Oates (Seattle)
  • 2002 - Helene Shapo (Northwestern)
  • 1997 - Ralph Brill (Chicago-Kent)
  • 1996 - Mary Lawrence (Oregon)

Please submit nominations before October 1, 2017. There is no particular form required to nominate someone. A simple letter or email message naming the person and describing some of his or her work should be enough. (If it isn't, we'll contact you for more information.) You can also submit additional letters of support, but the nomination form by itself is enough. Nominations are carried over to the subsequent year, so if you nominated someone for the 2017 award that person will be considered for the 2018 award. 

Please send nominations to the Awards Committee Co-Chair, Prof. Mark E. Wojcik, The John Marshall Law School, 315 S. Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604. Email: Please put "AALS Section Award Nomination" in the re line. You can also send a copy to the Awards Committee Co-Chair, Linda Berger, at

The 2018 AALS Awards Committee for the Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research is co-chaired by Linda Berger (UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law) and Mark E. Wojcik (The John Marshall Law School). The Awards Committee Members are Janet Siegel Brown (Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law), Alyssa Dragnich (Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law), J. Lyn Entrikin (William H. Bowen School of Law, University of Arkansas at Little Rock), Suzanne Row (University of Oregon School of Law), and Helene Shapo (Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law).

The AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research is chaired by Professor Sabrina DeFabritiis (Suffolk Law School). The Chair-Elect is Suzanna Moran (University of Denver School of Law) and the Section Secretary is Wendy Adele Humphrey (Texas Tech School of Law). The immediate past Section Chair is Bob Brain (Loyola Law School, Los Angeles). Other members of the Section Executive Committee, which will approve the recommendations of the Awards Committee, are Rebekah Hanley (University of Oregon School of Law), Allison Martin (Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law), Joseph Mastrosimone (Washburn School of Law), Anne Mullins (University of North Dakota School of Law), and Nancy Soonpaa (Texas Tech University School of Law).


| Permalink


Post a comment