Sunday, May 7, 2017

Winners Announced for the 2017 LWI/ALWD/LexisNexis Scholarship Grants; A Total of $20,000 in Grants Awarded

The Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors have announced the winners of the 2017 LWI/ALWD/LexisNexis Scholarship Grants. In a blind review process, a joint committee of LWI and ALWD evaluated the proposals and made funding recommendations, which both Boards affirmed.  This year, LWI and ALWD each contributed $7500.  LexisNexis contributed $5000.  Through their generosity of these organizations, four grants awards of $5000 each were made.
The grant winners and titles of the proposals are:
  • Mark Cooney (Western Michigan, Cooley Law School), What Courts Cite
  • Lindsay Head (LSU), A Contract to Hire: Unilateral Grading Contracts in the Legal Writing Classroom
  • Nancy Millar (Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School), The Science of Successful Teaching
  • Amanda Smith (Widener University, Commonwealth Law School), “Say What?”: A How-To Guide on Providing Formative Assessment to Law Students Through Live Critique
Members of the Joint Scholarship Grants Committee who mentored the applicants and evaluated the proposals were: Sue Chesler, David Cleveland, Lyn Entrikin, Elizabeth Frost, Jane Grise, Anne Mullins, Rebecca Scharf, and Emily Zimmerman.

Hat tips to Louis Sirico (LWI) and Greg Johnson (ALWD), Co-Chairs of the Joint Scholarship Grants Committee.


| Permalink


Post a comment