Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Nominations for the Mary Lawrence Award

The Awards Committee of the Legal Writing Institute is seeking nominations for the 2017 Mary S. Lawrence Award, which will be awarded at the Association of Legal Writing Directors Conference in July 2017.  Any member of LWI may nominate someone for the award. 
Please submit nominations directly to Kirsten Dauphinais,, by Friday, April 14, 2017.
The award is named for Professor Emerita Mary S. Lawrence, longtime Director of Legal Writing and Research at the University of Oregon School of Law and an early Chair of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.  For her scholarship and her pioneering work in legal writing education, Mary received the first Distinguished Service Award from the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research; the inaugural Marjorie Rombauer Award from the Association of Legal Writing Directors; a joint LWI/ALWD Lifetime Achievement Award; and the Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education. 
In the spirit of recognizing the many individuals who make significant contributions to the field of legal writing, the LWI Awards Committee especially encourages nominees who have not already received other LWI or legal writing awards and nominations of women, people of color, and members of other traditionally under-represented groups. Members of the LWI Board of Directors and the LWI Awards Committee are ineligible for nomination until at least one year after completing their service.
Please include a brief statement (no more than 500 words) in support of the person or persons that you are nominating to receive the Mary S. Lawrence Award.  You may also attach that person’s C.V.

Hat tip to the LWI Award Committee (Myra Orlen and Kirsten Dauphinais, chairs, and members Brenda Gibson, Margaret Hannon, Greg Johnson, Mary Nagel, and Suzanne Rowe)


| Permalink


Post a comment