Thursday, January 9, 2014

Jan Levine Receives Awards During AALS Annual Meeting

Jan Levine AALSAALS Section Award

Jan M. Levine, Associate Professor and Director of the Legal Research and Writing Program at Duquesne University School of Law, received the prestigious Section Award from the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.  The award was presented on Friday, January 3, 2014, during the annual luncheon held by the AALS-LWRR Section.  Presenting the award was the 2013-14 Section Chair Judith A. Rosenbaum (Northwestern University School of Law).

New AALS Section Officers Elected

Kimberly Holst (Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law), who had served for the past year as Chair-Elect of the AALS-LWRR Section, became Chair of the Section during the business meeting held at the AALS Annual Meeting in New York.  Jennifer Murphy Romig (Emory Univeristy School of Law), who had served as Secretary, became the new Section Chair-Elect.  Robert Brain (Loyola Law School of Los Angeles), who had been a member of the section's executive committee, became the new section Secretary (a position that includes producing the section's newsletter).

Blackwell Award Reception  

Niedwiecki ALWDJan Levine received a second award later that evening at a reception hosted jointly by the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD) and the Legal Writing Institute (LWI).  The sister organizations jointly present the 12th Annual Thomas F. Blackwell Award to Jan Levine.

The Thomas F. Blackwell Award is named for a legal writing professor at Appalachian School of Law.  It recognizes a person who has made an outstanding contribution to improving the field of legal writing by demonstrating the ability to nurture and motivate students to excellence; a willingness to help other legal writing educators to improve their teaching skills and legal writing Jan Levine LWIprograms; and an ability to create and integrate new ideas for teaching and motivating legal writing educators and students.  The first Blackwell award was conferred in 2003 at the AALS meeting in Washington D.C., where it was presented by Tom's widow, Lisa Blackwell, and his three children, Zebadiah, Jillian, and Ezekiel. 

Jan Levine joins the following previous recipients of the Blackwell Award:

  • 2013    Judy Stinson, Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
  • 2012    Suzanne E. Rowe, University of Oregon School of Law
  • 2011    Carol McCrehan Parker, University of Tennessee College of Law
  • 2010    Steve Johansen, Lewis & Clark Law School
  • 2009    Linda H. Edwards, University of Nevada Las Vegas William S. Boyd School of Law
  • 2008     Diana V. Pratt, Wayne State University School of Law
  • 2007     Louis J. Sirico, Jr., Villanova University School of Law
  • 2006    Mary Beth Beazley, The Ohio State University Michael E. Moritz College of Law
  • 2005    Ralph Brill, Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • 2004    Pamela V. Lysaught, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law
  • 2003    Richard K. Neumann Jr., Hofstra University School of Law

Jan is the first person to receive the highest awards in the field of legal writing in the same year.


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Jan Levine Receives Awards During AALS Annual Meeting:


Post a comment