Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Call for Nominations: Golden Pen Awards

The Awards Committee of the Legal Writing Institute is pleased to announce its call for nominations for both the 2014 and 2015 Golden Pen Awards.  The 2014 award will be given at the biennial LWI Conference in Philadelphia, and the 2015 award will be given at the AALS Conference in January, 2015.  By asking for nominations for both years at once, the Committee hopes to give recipients sufficient time to arrange their schedules to be present at the ceremony.  Any member of LWI may nominate someone for the award.  All nominations will be considered for either year.  You may submit your nominations directly to Hether Macfarlane at hmacfarlane@pacific.edu on or before October 15, 2013.

The Golden Pen Award recognizes those who make significant contributions to advance the cause of better legal writing.  These contributions may take any form, such as promoting the use of clear language in public documents, improving the quality of legal writing instruction, advocating for better writing within the legal community, outstanding scholarship or journalism about legal writing or legal topics, or exceptional writing in law practice.  The award is normally given to someone who is not an active member of LWI, but active members are considered in exceptional circumstances.

Previous recipients of the award are Arthur Levitt, Chair of the Securities and Exchange Commission; Don LeDuc, Dean of the Thomas Cooley Law School; Linda Greenhouse, Supreme Court correspondent for the New York Times; the late Honorable Robert E. Keeton of the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts; Richard Wydick, Professor at the University of California at Davis School of Law; the Honorable Ronald M. George, the Honorable Carol A. Corrigan, and the Honorable James D. Ward, Justices of the Supreme Court of California and the California Court of Appeal; the Honorable Ruggero J. Aldisert of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; the National Association of Attorneys General; William C. Burton, Esq.; George Gopen, Professor of the Practice of Rhetoric in the English Department at Duke University; and Jeffrey Rosen, Professor of Law at The George Washington University.



| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Call for Nominations: Golden Pen Awards:


Post a comment