Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Jan Levine to Receive Blackwell Award

Jan Levine The Association of Legal Writing Directors and the Legal Writing Institute have announced that Professor Jan Levine has been selected to receive the Thomas F. Blackwell Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Legal Writing.  Jan is an Associate Professor and Director of Legal Research and Writing at Duquesne University School of Law.

The Blackwell Award is named to honor the memory of Thomas Blackwell, a legal writing professor at the Appalachian School of Law in Grundy, Virginia.  He was one of three people killed at the law school on January 16, 2002 when a former student opened fire at the school with a handgun. 

Recognizing the contributions that Tom Blackwell made to the legal writing community, the Blackwell Award is presented annually to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to improve the field of Legal Writing by demonstrating:

  • an ability to nurture and motivate students to excellence;
  • a willingness to help other legal writing educators improve their teaching skills or their legal writing programs; and
  • an ability to create and integrate new ideas for teaching and motivating legal writing educators and students.

Previous winners include:

  • 2012 - Suzanne Rowe of the University of Oregon
  • 2011 - Carol McCrehan Parker of the University of Tennessee
  • 2010 - Steve Johansen of Lewis & Clark
  • 2009 - Linda Edwards of Mercer Law
  • 2008 - Diana Pratt of Wayne State
  • 2007 - Louis Sirico of Villanova Law School
  • 2006 - Mary Beth Beazley of Ohio State
  • 2005 - Ralph Brill of Chicago-Kent
  • 2004 - Pam Lysaght of Detroit Mercy
  • 2003 - Richard K. Neumann of Hofstra University

The award is a joint award of the Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors.

The Blackwell Award Reception will be held during the Annual Meeting of the Association of American Law Schools.  The reception will be at the New York Marriott Marquis on Friday, January 3, 2014, from 8 p.m. until 10 p.m. 

Here is a link to a story about the last Blackwell Award Presentation.

Hat tips to Kathleen Elliott Vinson &  Mel Weresh

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Jan Levine to Receive Blackwell Award:


Post a comment