Monday, January 7, 2013

Awards go to Stinson, Rosen, Dickerson, Lawrence at AALS Meeting

Stinson 3At a festive reception at the AALS Annual Meeting on January 5, awards wereRosen presented to Judy Stinson, Jeffrey Rosen, Darby Dickerson, and Mary Lawrence. Stinson (pictured at left), a professor at Arizona State University, received the Blackwell Memorial Award, which honors “a person who has made an outstanding contribution to improve the field of Legal Writing.” The award is named for Thomas F. Blackwell, who was a prominent contributor to the field. George Washington University’s Jeffrey Rosen (pictured at right), who is also legal affairs editor of the New Republic, received the Golden Pen Award for his “extraordinary contribution to the cause of better legal writing.” Darby Dickerson, Dean at Texas Tech Law School, was the first recipient of the Darby Dickerson Award for service to legal writing. And Mary Lawrence, a pioneer in the field, received a special Lifetime Achievement Award, shown below.


hat tip: Karin Mika


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Awards go to Stinson, Rosen, Dickerson, Lawrence at AALS Meeting:


Post a comment