Monday, January 9, 2012

Blackwell Award

Rowe, SuzanneLast Thursday evening the Legal Writing Institute (LWI) and the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD) conferred what has become one of the highest honors in the legal writing community, the Thomas F. Blackwell Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Legal Writing.  The award was presented to Suzanne E. Rowe of the University of Oregon School of Law.  LWI President-Elect Mel Weresh and ALWD President J. Lyn Entriken presented the award at a reception held during the 2012 annual meeting of the Association of American Law Schools. 

The award is given in memory of Thomas F. Blackwell, a legal writing professor at Appalachian School of Law in Grundy, Virginia. Tom's widow, Lisa Blackwell, and two of their three children were able to attend this year's ceremony in Washington, D.C.  

This year marked the tenth time that the award had been given.  Previous award winners were:

  • Richard K. Neumann, Jr. (2003)
  • Pamela V. Lysaght (2004)
  • Ralph Brill (2005)
  • Mary Beth Beazley (2006)
  • Louis J. Sirico, Jr. (2007)
  • Diana V. Pratt (2008)
  • Linda H. Edwards (2009)
  • Steve Johansen (2010)
  • Carol McCreahan Parker (2011)

The event in Washington included the now traditional slideshow of legal writing photos (provided by David Austin, Karin Mika, and Mike Curran) organized by Mary Beth Beazley and Ruth Anne Robbins.  Another great jazz band (an idea initiated by Mary Algero) made the evening very special indeed.


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Blackwell Award :


Kudos as well to the ALWD Awards Committee Chair, Margaret Curtiss Hannon, whose hard work, dedication, and organizational skills helped to make the reception a great success.

Posted by: Sue Provenzano | Jan 11, 2012 7:45:59 AM

Post a comment