Tuesday, December 20, 2011

AALS Section Award winners

The AALS Section on Legal Writing, Research, and Reasoning has announced the winners of its award for “significant lifetime contribution to the field of  legal writing, reasoning and research.” Here's what the Awards Committee had to say about the two very deserving recipients: 

ImagesSusan L. Brody began her career in the field of legal writing 30 years ago. She was instrumental in persuading her colleagues at The John Marshall Law School to institute a four semester required writing program and give regular tenure track status to all those who taught in the program. Her co-authored book, Legal Drafting, was one of the first of its kind and helped shape the curriculum of drafting courses nationwide.  Susan is a past president of the AALS section on Legal Writing, Reasoning and Research, was a founding member of both the Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors and was chair of the Communication skills Committee of the ABA Section of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar. She was a co-author of the first edition of the Sourcebook on Legal Writing Programs. Finally, Susan Brody is a wonderful colleague and mentor who continues to work behind the scenes to advance the interests of legal writing professionals. 

Images2Mary Barnard Ray has been a pioneer and major proponent of Advanced Legal Writing courses. She co-authored one of the first textbooks that went Beyond the Basics. She also co-authored the desk-top reference Getting it Right and Getting it Written as well as The Basics of Legal Writing. She is a frequent presenter at the Legal Writing Institute and Association of Legal Writing Directors conferences. Members of both the LWI and ALWD listservs know of Mary’s unfailingly generous response to requests for help, which often includes sharing her numerous handouts, exercises, and teaching insights. Her early videotape, “Texts, Sighs, and Videotape” is still the quintessential training tool for conducting challenging student conferences. She has been a mentor to legal writing teachers as well as writing specialists and program directors. She has served as a board member of ALWD. After 33 years in the field of legal writing, Mary Ray has recently retired from the University of Wisconsin. 

The awards will be presented at the AALS meeting in Washington, D.C., in January 2012. 

hat tip: Ardath Hamann, Awards Committee Chair




| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference AALS Section Award winners:


Post a comment