Thursday, May 19, 2011

LRW profs are movin' up!

As the spring semester has been coming to a close across the U.S., we’ve gotten lot of good news about legal writing professors:

Jennifer Shepard, at Mercer University, received the Eisenberg Prize from the American Academy of Appellate lawyers, for the best article on appellate practice and procedure. Her prize-winning article is Once Upon a Time, Happily Ever After, and in a Galaxy Far, Far Away: Using Narrative to Fill the Cognitive Gap Left by Overreliance on Pure Logic in Appellate Briefs and Motion Memoranda.

At Rutgers University in Camden, Carol Wallinger, who already had clinical tenure, was promoted from Clinical Associate Professor to Clinical Professor. Jason Cohen was awarded clinical tenure, which at Rutgers means a five-year presumptively renewable contract. And Ruth Anne Robbins has been promoted to the position of Director of Lawyering Programs.

Kirsten Dauphinais, at the University of North Dakota, received the 2011 North Dakota Spirit Faculty Award, for her outstanding contributions in teaching, scholarship, and service. The University of North Dakota Foundation awards just one faculty member per department or school annually.

Suzanne Rowe received the 2011 Hollis Teaching Award at the University of Oregon. That award takes into account both peer reviews of teaching and students’ teaching evaluations. The University of Oregon has also finished the process of promoting Suzanne to full Professor.

McGeorge University has adjusted the faculty status, contracts, and titles of its full-time LRW professors. They now have a career path from Assistant Professor of Lawyering Skills to Associate Professor of Lawyering Skills to full Professor of Lawyering Skills. Four of them were put on presumptively-renewable five-year contracts right away: Mary-Beth Moylan, Stephanie Thompson, Ed Telfeyan, and Hether Macfarlane. Others will be eligible next year.

The law faculty at Stetson University voted to grant tenure to their LRW Director, Kirsten Davis.

Olympia Duhart and David Cleveland, at Nova Southeastern University, were promoted to the rank of full Professor.

And at the University of Missouri – Kansas City, the law faculty voted in favor of having all of the legal writing professors vote at faculty meetings and in favor of a smaller class size for LRW class. Both changes will improve the professional lives of Wanda Temm, Barb Wilson, Judy Popper, and Dan Weddle.

When it comes to legal writing professors making progress, it seems resistance is futile! Congratulations to you all!



| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LRW profs are movin' up!:


Post a comment