Tuesday, April 5, 2011

legal writing profs garner awards

Now that the end of the spring semester is in sight at U.S. law schools, we're heading into award season.  And legal writing professors are receiving their fair share:

HigdonMichael At the University of Tennessee School of Law's honors banquet, Michael J. Higdon was presented with the W. Allen Separk Award.  This award recognizes "outstanding legal scholarship by a member of the law faculty published the previous year".  The award went to Michael for his article on school bullying, which will be published by the Indiana Law Journal and is already available here.


The students at the Southern University Law Center, in Baton Rouge, voted to give Linda Fowler their award for Evening Division Professor of the Year.  Linda previously taught legal writing at LSU (Louisiana State U.), but was lured away to Baton Rouge seven years ago to help Southern establish its evening division.

Rabe At the Rocky Mountain Region Legal Writing Conference last month, Suzanne Rabe, who teaches at the University of Arizona, received the Rocky Mountain Award.  She was honored for her many contributions to the field of legal writing, including establishing the Rocky Mountain conference as a way to get legal writing professionals together without frills or pretentions.

Congratulations to our accomplished colleagues!

hat tips:  Ruth Anne Robbins, Gail Stephenson, Terry Pollman



Books | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference legal writing profs garner awards :


Post a comment