Thursday, September 30, 2010

National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition

The Second Annual National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition will be held on February 25-26, 2011 in Chicago.  The competition is presented by DePaul University College of Law and the Lawyers’ Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation.  Final round judges will include members of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.  This year's competition problem addresses the recovery of stolen art works and the Immunity from Seizure Act.  For more information about the competition or to register, please visit 

Hat tip to Chris Evers


September 30, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition at Elon Law School

Elon University School of Law announced that it will host the Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition, which honors three of North Carolina's preeminent attorneys and former Chief Justices.  The competition, which will focus on constitutional law, will take place March 31-April 2 at Elon Law School in Greensboro, North Carolina.  Because the competition seeks to honor as many students as possible for their achievements in advocacy, there will be numerous awards for the best team performances, best briefs, and best oral advocates. Team awards will be presented to all teams reaching the Quarterfinals and beyond. Brief writing awards will be presented to the top four briefs. Oral advocacy awards will be presented to the top four advocates in the preliminary rounds, as well as the best advocate in the final round.

Schools may enter either one or two teams; teams may consist of either two or three students.  Registration opens on August 1, 2010. The Early Bird Registration deadline is December 1, 2010 ($250 per team). The final, Regular Registration deadline is January 5, 2011 ($350 per team).  Click here for the registration form.  For more information, please do not hesitate to contact Associate Dean Alan Woodlief at 336-279-9203.

Hat tip to Prof. Catherine J. Wasson, Director of Legal Research & Writing at Elon University School of Law

September 29, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Last Chance: AALS Section Award Nominations Due on Friday

Aalslogo The Awards Committee of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research invites nominations for the recipient of the annual Section Award.  The award will be presented during the Section Luncheon at the AALS Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

The AALS Section Award is given to an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the field of legal writing, reasoning, and research.  The Section Award is a wonderful opportunity to honor those who have contributed so much to the field.  Last year’s Section Award recipient was Joe Kimble (Thomas Cooley).  Previous recipients of the Section Award have been Ralph Brill, Eric Easton, Anne Enquist, Mary Lawrence, Terri LeClercq, Richard Neumann, Laurel Oates, Marjorie Rombauer, Helene Shapo, and Marilyn Walter.  

The deadline for nominations is October 1, 2010.  Please submit your nominations to Emily Zimmerman at ebz23 [at]  You should include a statement supporting your nomination.  The nomination and supporting statement together should not be more than 1000 words.  

Hat tip to the AALS Section Award Committee members: David R. Cleveland, Sabrina DeFabritiis, Anne M. Enquist, Greg Johnson, Mark Osbeck, Helene Shapo, Karen J. Sneddon, Kathy Stanchi, ex officio, and Emily Zimmerman (Committee Chair)


September 29, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Brief Cites a Tweet from a Law Professor

Have we seen it all now?  Here's a link to post about a brief that CITES AS AUTHORITY a tweet from a law professor.

Hey, feel free to CITE THIS BLOG in your briefs!  Thanks!


September 29, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Sunday, September 26, 2010

Jessup Group on LinkedIn

ILSA Are you coaching the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition?  Or serving as a judge?  Or maybe you participated as a  law student?

There is a group on LinkedIn for Fans of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition and the International Law Students Association (which sponsors the Jessup Competition).  Click here to learn more about the group.   And click here to learn more about ILSA and this year's Jessup problem.

The LinkedIn group is open to all current, former, and future Jessup competitors -- and anyone interested in international law or moot court generally.


September 26, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)