Friday, September 3, 2010

Jessup Moot Court Competition

ILSA Are you coaching the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition?  Or serving as a judge?  Or maybe you participated as a  law student?

There is a group on LinkedIn for Fans of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition and the International Law Students Association (which sponsors the Jessup Competition).  Click here to learn more about the group.   And click here to learn more about ILSA and this year's Jessup problem.


September 3, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Friday Fun

Can you make a joke about stare decisis?  Sure!  Click here for a cute cartoon. 

Hat tip to Courtoons


September 2, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

laptops in the classroom

Mclain  Lynn Mclain, at the University of Baltimore, has written an article entitled: Is Permitting Student Use of Laptops in Class a Good Idea? ‘It Depends’ – A Variety of Approaches is Best

As she explains in her abstract:

"This brief paper describes this writer’s observations regarding the use of laptop PC’s by law students in Images her classes. This professor decided to set some conditions on the use and non-use of laptops to test the waters, and to see if some conclusions could be drawn as to whether students’ use of this technology helps or hinders the learning process. This paper describes what was learned."


September 2, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

AALS Section Award Nominations

Aalslogo The Awards Committee of the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research invites nominations for the recipient of the annual Section Award.  The award will be presented during the Section Luncheon at the AALS Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

Kimble, Joe Award The AALS Section Award is given to an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the field of legal writing, reasoning, and research.  The Section Award is a wonderful opportunity to honor those who have contributed so much to the field.  Last year’s Section Award recipient was Joe Kimble (Thomas Cooley), pictured here receiving the award.  Previous recipients of the Section Award have been Ralph Brill, Eric Easton, Anne Enquist, Mary Lawrence, Terri LeClercq, Richard Neumann, Laurel Oates, Marjorie Rombauer, Helene Shapo, and Marilyn Walter.  

The deadline for nominations is October 1, 2010.  Please submit your nominations to Emily Zimmerman at ebz23 [at]  You should include a statement supporting your nomination.  The nomination and supporting statement together should not be more than 1000 words.  

Hat tip to the AALS Section Award Committee members: David R. Cleveland, Sabrina DeFabritiis, Anne M. Enquist, Greg Johnson, Mark Osbeck, Helene Shapo, Karen J. Sneddon, Kathy Stanchi, ex officio, and Emily Zimmerman (Committee Chair)


September 1, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

400,000 Visits to the Legal Writing Prof Blog

A short while ago we had our 400,000th visitor to the Legal Writing Prof Blog.  Thank you all for your support, contributions, and readership.

The Editors

August 31, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Do you own copyrights in your academic work?

Pila_justine Justine Pila, at the University of Oxford, provides a perspective from the U.K. on the question of "Who Owns the Intellectual Property Rights in Academic Work?".  As he explains it:

“In this Opinion piece I consider the ownership of intellectual property rights in university teaching and research against the backdrop of British university IP policies. Starting from the position of Lord Evershed that it is "just and commonsense" that academics own the copyright in their lectures, and by extension the copyright in their research, I consider the policy arguments for university claims of ownership in respect of such copyright and academic inventions.”

So, who owns the copyright in your lectures and publications? 


August 31, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Monday, August 30, 2010

helping your law students publish

Professors Larry MacLachlan, Allen Rostron, and Nancy Levit have now posted on SSRN a little essay with advice for law students on how to publish seminar papers or law journal pieces that are not selected for publication at their own schools’ journals: Submission of Law Student Articles for Publication. The essay includes a chart of 194 law journals and their rules for accepting students’ submissions


August 30, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)

Reminder: Nominations for the LWI Golden Pen Award Due September 15

LWI 25 The Awards Committee of the Legal Writing Institute announced its call for nominations for the 2011 Golden Pen Award. Any member of LWI may nominate someone for the award. The committee asks that you submit your nominations directly to Susan Thrower at on or before September 15, 2010.

The Golden Pen Award recognizes those who make significant contributions to advance the cause of better legal writing. These contributions may take any form, such as promoting the use of clear language in public documents, improving the quality of legal writing instruction, advocating for better writing within the legal community, outstanding scholarship or journalism about legal writing, or exceptional writing in law practice. The award is normally given to someone who is not an active member of LWI, but active members are considered in exceptional circumstances.

Previous recipients of the award are Arthur Levitt, Chair of the Securities and Exchange Commission; Don LeDuc, Dean of the Thomas Cooley Law School; Linda Greenhouse, Supreme Court correspondent for The New York Times; the late Honorable Robert E. Keeton of the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts; Richard Wydick, Professor at the University of California at Davis School of Law; the late Joseph Williams, author of Style: Ten Lessons in Clarity and Grace; the Honorable Ronald M. George, the Honorable Carol A. Corrigan, and the Honorable James D. Ward, Justices of the Supreme Court of California and the California Court of Appeal; the Honorable Ruggero J. Aldisert of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; the National Association of Attorneys General; and William C. Burton, Esq.

The Awards Committee thanks you and looks forward to receiving your nominations.  Members of the committee are Leah Christensen, Sonia Bychkov Green, Hether MacFarlane, Lou Sirico, Susan Thrower, and Christopher Wren.


August 30, 2010 | Permalink | Comments (0) | TrackBack (0)