Saturday, June 19, 2010

Burton Awards 2010

Thower Davis Everhart Greene 2010 The most glamorous night in the world of legal writing is undoubtedly the Burton Legal Writing Awards held each year at the Library of Congress in Washington, DC.  Here is a picture from the award ceremony held on June 14, 2010. 
Pictured here are the oh-so-lovely-and-glamorous Susan Thrower (DePaul University); Kirsten Davis (Stetson University); Lisa Everhart (Catholic University of America); and Sherri Greene (University of Maryland).  Click on the photo to enlarge it and have a REALLY GOOD look at those wonderful dresses!  (You know they want you to do that!)
The Burton event is always magnificent -- this year U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg spoke on the importance of legal writing.  A number of awards were given, including to Bryan Garner, Jeffery Toobin, and Elizabeth Warren.
Professor Helene Shapo (also very lovely, but unfortunately not pictured here) won the 2010 Contributions to Legal Writing Education Award.
Click here to see photos from the 2009 Burton Awards.  William Burton, the namesake of these awards, is the recipient of the 2010 Golden Pen Award that will be presented at the opening reception at the Legal Writing Institute Conference in Marco Island.  Click here to read more about that award.
Hat tip to the lovely, talented, and super glamorous Kirsten K. Davis (Associate Professor of Law and Director of Legal Research and Writing at Stetson University College of Law).  

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Burton Awards 2010:


Post a comment