Monday, March 8, 2010

LWI Board Election Results

LWI 25 The Legal Writing Institute just announced the results of elections for candidates to serve on its Board of Directors.  The field of 27 candidates who stepped forward was an exceptionally strong and competitive field, reflecting great interest in the work of the Legal Writing Institute and a deep commitment to serve those teach legal research, writing, and analysis.  Only seven candidates could be elected. 

In announcing the names of the seven winners, LWI President-Elect Ken Chestek had this to say:  "I am delighted with the strength and depth of the field of candidates this year. The LWI Board is a very hard-working board, and I am grateful that so many of our members were willing to step up and serve our profession. While only seven of the candidates could be elected, all of the candidates deserve our congratulations and thanks for their dedication."

He's absolutely right.

Here are the names of the winners.  They will serve four-year terms that start at the end of the LWI Conference at Marco Island.  (And as a side note, if you haven't yet made your hotel reservations for Marco Island you should click here for more information about the LWI Summer Conference.)

Here are the winners (in alphabetical order):

Croskery-Roberts, Rachel 2 Rachel Croskery-Roberts (pictured at left) is the Associate Director of the Legal Practice Program at Michigan Law School, where she has taught for eight years.  In 2009, she was the Chair of the AALS Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.  This year, she is the Chair-Elect of the AALS Section on Teaching Methods.  She is an editor on the Journal of the Legal Writing Institute.Julien, Alison

Alison Julien (pictured at right) is an Associate Professor of Legal Writing at Marquette University Law School in Wisconsin.  Her school recently hosted the successful 2009 Central Regional Legal Writing Conference, and she served as the Chair of the Site Committee for that Conference.  Alison is Co-Chair of the 2010 LWI Biennial Conference Program Committee and is also chair of the LWI Committee on Committees.  She was a member of the editorial board of the first volume of the LWI Monograph.McElroy, Lisa


Lisa T. McElroy (pictured at left) is an Associate Professor of Law at The Earle Mack School of Law at Drexel University.  She was previously Dean of Skills Training and an Assistant Professor of at New England School of Law in Massachusetts and a Professor of Legal Writing at Roger Williams University School of Law in Rhode Island.  She was a frequent U.S. Supreme Court Commentator on CourtTV (now part of CNN).  Beyond her contributions to the field of legal writing, she also is a contributing author for Parenting magazine. She's also written several biographies of U.S. Supreme Court Justices for children, including forthcoming biography of Sonia Sotomayor: First Hispanic Supreme Court Justice.  Click here to learn more about Lisa.


Oates, Laurel 2 Laurel Currie Oates (pictured at right) is one of the founding members of the Legal Writing Institute.  She's a Professor of Law and Director of the Legal Writing Program at Seattle University School of Law.  Laurel has worked on seven national LWI Conferences (1984, 1986, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, and 2004 in case you were wondering which ones).  She is the co-author of five books, including The Legal Writing Handbook. Click here to learn more about Laurel.  Laurel and her colleague Mimi Samuel have conducted workshops for lawyers and law students in India, Uganda, and South Africa among other places.  In 2007, she received the prestigious Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education.


Rabe, Suzanne Suzanne Rabe (pictured at left) is a Clinical Professor of Law at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law.  She started teaching legal writing in 1980 (in a capped program -- remember those?)  After taking time off to practice law she returned to teaching legal writing in 1987 as an adjunct professor.  She became the director of Legal Writing at the University of Arizona in 2000 and the following year founded and co-hosted the first Rocky Mountain Regional Legal Writing Conference. 


Malmud, Rocklin, Joan Joan Malmud Rocklin (pictured at right) is a Legal Research and Writing Professor and Director of Externships and Clinics at the University of Oregon School of Law.  She is co-chair of the Program Committee of the LWI 2010 Biennial Conference and is also coordinating the Critiquing Workshop that will be held at Marco Island as part of that conference.  She has been a Co-Editor of the LWI Newsletter, The Second Draft.  She was also the 2008-09 Secretary to the Association of American Law Schools Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research.  Her work includes working with non-U.S. lawyers and law students on their legal writing and analysis.  She also co-authored (with two colleagues) the first year legal writing textbook called A Lawyer Writes.  Her law school website says that since moving to Oregon she has taken up the sport of snowboarding.


Thomson, David David Thomson is a Lawyering Practice Professor and Director of the Legal Writing Program at the University of Denver Sturm College of Law.  As a member of the LWI's Website Committee, he worked on the 2008 redesign and launch of the LWI website.  Since then he has chaired the LWI's Website and Communications Committee.  He is also serving the LWI by heading up the technology aspects of the 2010 Conference at Marco Island.  He previously served on the LWI Bylaws Committee, chaired the Idea Bank 2.0 Committee, and was an assistant editor of the LWI Journal.  In his non-LWI work, he is series editor for the Lexis Nexis Skills & Values Series of supplemental texts.  His own publications include the very highly regarded Law School 2.0: Legal Education for a Digital Age (LexisNexis/Matthew Bender 2009).


Congratulations to the seven winners and also to the 20 other candidates who were brave enough to step forward and offer their skills and energy in service to the Legal Writing Institute.  I look forward to serving with you on the Board!  Hat tip to LWI President-Elect Ken Chestek for providing the election results.

Mark E. Wojcik (The John Marshall Law School-Chicago)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference LWI Board Election Results:


Post a comment