Sunday, May 24, 2009

Thomas Blackwell Award Nominations

Reminder: The 2009-2010 Blackwell Awards Committee invites nominations for one of the most prestigious awards in legal writing, the Thomas F. Blackwell Memorial Award  for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Legal Writing.  The deadline for submitting nominations is June 15, 2009.  The 2010 winner will be announced in mid-summer, and the award will be presented at the 2010 AALS meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. A plaque, listing the winners, is on display at Tom's school, Appalachian Law School.




A. Criteria:


            Honoring the life of Thomas F. Blackwell for his personal and professional qualities as a Legal Writing educator, the Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors give this award to recognize a person who has made an outstanding contribution to improve the field of Legal Writing by demonstrating:

·         an ability to nurture and motivate students to excellence;

·         a willingness to help other Legal Writing educators improve their teaching skills or their Legal Writing Programs; and

·         an ability to create and integrate new ideas for teaching and motivating Legal Writing educators and students.


B. Submission Instructions and Deadline:


1.  Nomination materials should support as fully as possible the listed criteria as well as any other information the nominating person believes would help the Committee in its selection process.

2. If you wish to re-nominate a candidate you previously nominated, please note that the Committee does not retain nominations from earlier years.  You should submit a new nomination with supporting materials.

3. The deadline for submitting nominations is close of business (5:00 p.m. Central Daylight Savings Time) on June 15, 2009.

4. Nominations are confidential. Send nominations directly to the attention of Coleen Barger, Chair of the Committee, using one of the methods listed below.

·         E-mail: Coleen Barger

·         Fax: (501) 324-9992

·         U.S. mail:    Prof. Coleen Barger

                        University of Arkansas at Little Rock Bowen School of Law

                        1201 McMath Avenue

                        Little Rock, AR 72202

5. Previous winners, members of the Blackwell Award Committee, and current and newly elected members of the LWI and ALWD governing boards are not eligible for this year’s award.  The names of those persons are listed in the chart below (some are listed more than once due to multiple bases for ineligibility).

Former Winners

Current and Incoming ALWD Officers and Directors

Current and Incoming LWI Officers and Directors

Blackwell Award Committee

Richard Neumann (2003)

Pamela Lysaght (2004)

Ralph Brill (2005)

Mary Beth Beazley (2006)

Lou Sirico (2007)

Diana Pratt (2008)

Linda Edwards (2009)

Judy Stinson (Current President)

Terrill Pollman (Immediate Past President)

Mary Beth Beazley (President-Elect)

Kristen Gerdy (Secretary)

Grace Wigal (Treasurer)

Mary Garvey Algero

Linda Berger

Kirsten Davis

Nancy Lawler Dickhute

Lyn Goering

Lisa McElroy

Anthony Niedwiecki

Suzanne Rabe

Judy Rosenbaum

John Mollenkamp

Susan Thrower

Kathy Vinson

Ruth Anne Robbins (LWI President)

Susan Hanley Duncan (Immediate Past President)

Kenneth D. Chestek (President-Elect)

Linda Berger (Host School representative)

Michael J. Higdon (Treasurer)

Robin Boyle

Anne Enquist

Tracy L. McGaugh

Judy Rosenbaum

Suzanne Rowe

Terry Jean Seligmann

Michael R. Smith

Melissa H. Weresh

Mark E. Wojcik

Clifford S. Zimmerman

Coleen Barger

Linda Edwards

Diana Pratt

Ruth Anne Robbins

Lou Sirico

Judith Stinson

C. Process:


1.  The Award shall be presented at the annual January meeting of the American Association of Law Schools (AALS).

 2.  By May 31st of the year preceding the January presentation, the Award Committee shall have solicited nominees for the Award from the members of the Legal Writing Institute (LWI) and the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD).  The Committee shall request that nominations for the Award be sent privately to the Award Committee Chair.

3.  The Award Committee, consisting of seven experienced legal writing professionals, shall be jointly appointed by the LWI and ALWD governing boards.

4.  The Award Committee may consider a variety of factors related to the Criteria to select an Award recipient.  These factors may include, among others, efforts to improve the status and security of Legal Writing educators; scholarship that is published or is presented at professional meetings; and efforts made to support and encourage other Legal Writing educators.

5.  By July 31st of the year preceding the January meeting, the Award Committee will recommend a recipient to LWI and ALWD governing boards for their approval.  The governing boards will vote to accept or reject the nomination and instruct the Committee as to the Award’s presentation.  No person serving as a member of the governing boards or as a member of the Award Committee may be a recipient of the Award.

6.  The Award shall be in the amount of $1,000.00.

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Thomas Blackwell Award Nominations:


Post a comment