Wednesday, January 16, 2008

nominees sought for Burton Award

The Burton Awards for Legal Achievement have given awards for good legal writing done by lawyers and law students for eight years. The Awards have promoted and publicized the cause of improving writing in the legal profession and have rewarded lawyers and law students who strive to write well. Two LWI members, Grace Tonner and Anne Kringel, serve on the Academic Board of the Awards, and Nancy Schultz is the liaison between ALWD and the Awards.

For the past four years, the Burton Awards have given an award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education. The award is given annually to an individual or group that has made an outstanding contribution to the education of lawyers in the field of legal analysis, research, and writing, whether through teaching, program design, program support, innovative thinking, or writing. The contributions considered may be significant single achievements or the accumulated achievements of a career. The previous recipients have been Dean Kent Syverud of Vanderbilt, Dean Darby Dickerson of Stetson, Professor Ralph Brill of Chicago-Kent, and, last year, Professor Laurel Oates of Seattle Uiversity.

We ask that you please nominate deserving groups or individuals for the Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education Award. The Burton Awards are yet another forum to publicize the achievements of those in our field. Send your nomination for this year's Burton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education by January 30, 2008.

Nominations should describe the contributions of the nominee and should be forwarded to one of the following members of the selection committee by e-mail: Anne Kringel (; Grace Tonner (; Nancy Schultz ( Nominations are due by January 30, 2008.


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference nominees sought for Burton Award:


Post a comment