Thursday, April 6, 2006

ALWD awards summer grants

Since 2001, the Association of Legal Writing Directors has awarded ALWD Summer Scholarship Grants for teachers of legal research and writing.

The Summer Scholarship Program reflects ALWD's commitment to the professional development of legal research and writing faculty. The grants are funded primarily from royalties from the sale of the ALWD Citation Manual.

This year's applicant pool was very strong and the decision was difficult. Many congratulations to the six recipients of the 2006 ALWD Scholarship grants:

Leah M. Christensen, U. of St. Thomas School of Law, Legal Reading: The Correlation Between How Students Read and Law School Success ($5000)

Mark Edwin Burge, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law, Teaching Statutory Construction in an Age of Outsourcing: Are Our Students Ready to Play Judge Yet? ($5000)

Andrew T. Solomon, South Texas College of Law, for an article on unpublished opinions ($2500)

Jennifer Sheppard, Appalachian School of Law, for a reference book for judicial externs and interns ($2500)

Russell A. McClain, Howard University School of Law, Achieving the O'Connor Ideal: Moving Towards Racial Equalization in the Legal Profession Through Pre-Law School Intensive Legal Writing Training($2500)

Hollee S. Temple, West Virginia University College of Law, An Analysis of the Credentials of Today's Legal Writing Professors ($2500)

Thank you to the members of the Scholarship Committee (Terry Pollman, Judy Stinson, Alice Silkey, Judy Fischer, Mary Beth Beazley, Lisa Eichorn, Amy Dillard, Nancy Dickhute, Ursula Weigold, Christine Venter) and especially to Committee Chair, Sarah Ricks, for evaluating the applications and making recommendations to the ALWD Board.

- Kristin B. Gerdy, President, ALWD (Brigham Young)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ALWD awards summer grants:


Post a comment