Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Conference Announcement: Second National Symposium on Experiential Education in Law

Registration has opened online for the 

Second National Symposium on Experiential Education in Law

June 13 – 15, 2014 in Greensboro, North Carolina

Hosted by Elon University School of Law and the Alliance for Experiential Learning in Law

Featured speakers include William C. Hubbard, President Elect of the American Bar Association, and Bill Henderson, Professor of Law, Maurer School of Law at Indiana University at Bloomington

The registration fee is $100. Visit law.elon.edu/aell to register and to learn more about the symposium. Contact Jane Law at Elon University School of Law with any questions related to registration: jlaw@elon.edu or (336) 279-9325.


When almost 300 legal educators, judges, lawyers and law students met in Boston 18 months ago for the first national symposium on experiential education in law, they recognized the changing landscape of legal education focusing on effective and integrated experiential education to accommodate limited finances and changes in the profession. These pioneers committed to developing thoughtful and innovative approaches to improve legal education and enhance the relevance of lawyers in the rapidly changing 21st century. 

The 2014 symposium will present the findings of the working groups organized by the Alliance for Experiential Learning in Law with the help of legal educators, judges and lawyers from over 100 law schools and many other enterprises across the legal profession and provide examples of innovation from other professions that can inform how legal educators can adapt to changing paradigms. These working groups have focused on important issues that must define legal education now and for the future.

What do we mean by experiential learning?

What are the → Innovations → Barriers → Successes in producing integrated and effective curricula?

What ideas have the Alliance Working Groups developed since the Inaugural Symposium?

What perspective can other disciplines provide regarding our efforts?


This event is being organized by:


The Alliance for Experiential Learning in Law Steering Committee

Cindy Adcock, Charlotte School of Law

Margaret Barry, Vermont Law School

Luke Bierman, Northeastern University School of Law

Susan Brooks, Drexel University School of Law

Christine Cimini, Vermont Law School

Roberto Corrada, Sturm College of Law, University of Denver

Bob Dinerstein, Washington College of Law, American University

Steve Ellmann, New York Law School

Deborah Epstein, Georgetown Law

Bob Jones, The Law School, University of Notre Dame

Kate Kruse, Hamline University School of Law

Susan Reich Paulsen, University of Minnesota Law School

Ruthane Robbins, Rutgers University School of Law

Pat Coughlan Voorhies, Northeastern University School of Law


Second National Symposium on Experiential Learning in Law Planning Committee

Steve Friedland, Co-Chair, Elon University School of Law

Margaret Barry, Co-Chair, Vermont Law School

Bill Henderson, Co-Chair, Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Christy Benson, Elon School of Business

Olympia Duhart, Nova University School of Law

Jim Exum, Elon University School of Law; Former Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court

Bill McNichol, Reed Smith; Rutgers University School of Law

Madeline Obler-Grill, Elon Law Journal

Gene Pridgen, K&L Gates; Immediate Past President, North Carolina Bar Association

Vivian Wexler, Bingham McCutchen

Pat Coughlan Voorhies, Northeastern University School of Law


| Permalink


Post a comment