Thursday, November 4, 2010

ABA Environment Section Hosts Teleconference on Critical Habitat

The announcement:

Is 2010 a Critical Year for Critical Habitat?
New Developments from the 9th Circuit

Wednesday, November 17, 2010
1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Eastern Time / 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Central Time
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Mountain Time / 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Pacific Time

Program Overview:
    This year the 9th Circuit has issued several important opinions addressing critical habitat issues under the Endangered Species Act, ranging from designation to adverse modification. Whether and how critical habitat gets designated and protected from adverse modification are the essence of its value to endangered species recovery, and can also be quite important to land-owners.
    Three Endangered Species Act experts, each from a different sector, will provide you with the opportunity to get caught up with these developments as well as to delve a bit more deeply into their potential consequences. First, Professor Daniel Rohlf, who has a significant body of scholarly work on the ESA, will present a summary of the new cases and discuss their relevance in light of the history of critical habitat protection. We will then hear from John Buse, the Legal Director for the Center for Biological Diversity, who will share his perspective on the cases and how they might impact his organization's efforts to secure greater protection for listed species. Finally, Rafe Petersen, a partner at Holland & Knight whose practice focuses on environmental litigation and counseling clients on compliance and enforcement matters, will discuss the impact these critical habitat issues have on industrial and development interests.
   
    Educational Objectives:
•    Get caught up on the status of critical habitat protection under the ESA
•    Delve deeper into designation and adverse modification issues
•    Learn about the practical implications of the recent case-law

Moderator:
    Kalyani Robbins, University of Akron School of Law, Akron, OH

Panelists:
    John Buse, Legal Director, Center for Biological Diversity, Chicago, IL
    Rafe Petersen, Holland & Knight, Washington, DC
    Daniel Rohlf, Professor of Law, Lewis and Clark Law School, Portland, OR

Register here.

Jamie Baker Roskie

http://lawprofessors.typepad.com/land_use/2010/11/aba-environment-section-hosts-teleconference-on-critical-habitat.html

Conferences, Environmental Law, Federal Government | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341bfae553ef0133f595a225970b

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ABA Environment Section Hosts Teleconference on Critical Habitat:

Comments