Sunday, January 17, 2010

Revised Landmarks Guide


In case readers missed it last year, the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission has published the fourth edition of its well-known Guide to New York City Landmarks (John Wiley & Sons).  This useful guide covers over 1,200 buildings, 90 historic districts, and four centuries of the Big Apple's history, including new research that even the most devoted students of NYC may not yet have encountered.  Although the guide is city-specific, it offers lessons on architectural history that communities across the country can appreciate.  The Guide makes clear that during an unprecedented period of development, the Landmarks Preservation Commission's efforts at identifying and highlighting iconic buildings provided a signficant counterpoint.  Learn more about these efforts by clicking here

The Landmarks Preservation Commission is the mayoral agency responsible for protecting and preserving New York City's architecturally, historically, and culturally significant buildings and sites.  Since its creation in 1965, the Landmarks Commission has granted landmark status to more than 25,000 individual buildings, including 1,215 individual landmarks, 110 interior landmarks, 10 scenic landmarks, and 92 historic districts in all five boroughs.  Under the City's landmarks law, considered the most powerful in the nation, the Commission must be comprised of at least three architects, a historian, a realtor, a planner or landscape architect, as well as a representative of each borough.

Will Cook, Charleston School of Law

Historic Preservation | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Revised Landmarks Guide:


And don't forget the important role the NYC Landmarks Commission has played in our regulatory takings jurisprudence by its rejection of plans to build a skyscraper over Grand Central Station, resulting in Penn Central v. NYC!

Posted by: Matt Festa | Jan 18, 2010 9:07:04 AM