Monday, March 17, 2014

US Announces Sanctions on Russia

U.S. President Obama issued an Executive Order (E.O) today imposing targeted sanctions on Russia in response to its actions in Crimea.  President Obama has declared a national emergency with respect to the Ukraine which finds Russia's deployment of military forces in the Crimean region and its actions to undermine democratic processes in the region constitute a threat to peace and security.  The White House press release and fact sheet containing the sanctions information may be found here. The E.O. authorizes the imposition of sanctions on certain Russian officials and certain individuals and other entities connected to the Russian arms industry.  The specific individuals named in this E.O. are: Vladislav Surkov, Sergey Glazyev, Leonid Slutsky, Andrei Klishas, Valentina Matviyenko, Dmitry Rogozin, and Yelena Mizulina.  The sanctions include asset freezes and travel bans.

Separately, the U.S. Treasury Department has imposed sanctions on four other individuals under E.O. 13660, issued on March 6, "for their actions or policies that threaten the peace, security, stability, sovereignty, or territorial integrity of Ukraine," including Crimea-based separatist leaders Sergey Aksyonov and Vladimir Konstantinov; former Ukrainian presidential chief of staff Viktor Medvedchuk; and former President of Ukraine Viktor Yanukovych.

The European Union is also imposing sanctions on several Russian officials in line with the US sanctions. 


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference US Announces Sanctions on Russia:


Post a comment