Saturday, June 8, 2013

43rd General Assembly of the OAS

Inter Am Commn Human RtsThis week, Guatemala hosted the 43rd General Assembly of the Organization of American States (OAS).  At the Assembly, the parties adopted by consensus the Declaration of Antigua, Guatemala, “For a Comprehensive Policy Against the World Drug Problem in the Americas.” This declaration reaffirms the commitment of the OAS Members to work in partnership to strengthen the rule of law, stem the flow of illegal drugs, and engage in best practices with regard to prevention, rehabilitation, and treatment of our citizens affected by drug addiction and abuse.  Also this week, the OAS General Assembly adopted the Inter-American Convention against Racism, Racial Discrimination and Related Forms of Intolerance and the Inter-American Convention against All Forms of Discrimination and Intolerance.

In addition, the Members of the OAS elected new Commissioners to the the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.  Commissioner Jose de Jesus Orozco Henriquez, from Mexico, current Chair of the IACHR, was reelected. In addition, James L. Cavallaro, a Professor at Stanford Law School in the United States of America, and Paulo De Tarso Vannuchi, from Brazil, were elected. The period for which they were elected runs from January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2017.  They will take the place of Dinah Shelton of the United States and Rodrigo Escobar Gil of Columbia, whose terms end December 31, 2013. The other members of the IACHR include Tracy Robinson (Jamaica), who is currently First Vice Chair; Rosa Maria Ortiz (Paraguay), who is the Second Vice Chair; Felipe Gonzalez (Chile); and Rose-Marie Antoine (dual citizen of Saint Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago).

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference 43rd General Assembly of the OAS:


Post a comment