Sunday, December 30, 2012

Argentina adopts new law to prevent torture

The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) issued a press release today welcoming the National Congress of Argentina’s recent approval of legislation that creates the System for Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment. The IACHR press release states:

"The IACHR applauds this action as an important step in protecting the fundamental rights of persons deprived of liberty in Argentina and the fulfillment of this its international obligations on human rights. The IACHR urges the Argentine government to take the necessary measures so that the system established by the new law has the adequate resources and institutional support necessary to perform its duties effectively and with the autonomy and independence required by its nature and monitoring functions."

Currently, fourteen Member States of the Organization of American States have ratified the Optional Protocol to the UN Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (OP-CAT): Argentina (11/15/04), Bolivia (11/23/06), Brazil (01/12/07), Chile (12/12/08), Costa Rica (12/01/05), Ecuador (07/20/10), Guatemala (06/09/08), Honduras (5/23/06), Mexico (04/11/05), Nicaragua (02/25/09), Panama (06/02/11), Paraguay (12/02/05), Peru (09/14/06) and Uruguay (12/08/05). Nine of these States have adopted laws creating national prevention mechanisms. The Commission urges the rest of the OAS Member States to ratify OP-CAT as well.


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Argentina adopts new law to prevent torture:


Post a comment