Sunday, July 1, 2012

UN Security Council Extends Terms of Four ICTR Judges to 2014

The United Nations Security Council on Friday decided to permit four judges of International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) to serve beyond the expiry of their terms of office so that the court can wrap up its work by the target date of December 2014.

In a unanimously adopted resolution, the Council decided that Judge William H. Sekule of Tanzania, Judge Solomy Balungi Bossa of Uganda and Judge Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson of Madagascar may continue until the completion of cases that they began before the 30 June expiry of their tenure. The Council also decided to extend until December 31, 2014 the service of the President of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Judge Vagn Joensen of Denmark, whose term was also to have expired on June 30, in an effort to complete the court’s remaining work. 

The Security Council also asked the ICTR to report on the projected schedule for transferring its remaining functions to the so-called “Residual Mechanism.” The Council set up the International Residual Mechanism in December 2010 and mandated it to take over and finish the remaining tasks of the ICTR when it is closed after its mandate expires. The ICTR branch of the mechanism will begin functioning on July 1 this year, and is set to conclude its work by the end of 2014. 

(mew) (adapted from a UN Press Release)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference UN Security Council Extends Terms of Four ICTR Judges to 2014:


Post a comment