Saturday, July 7, 2012

ICTR Transfers Convicts to Mail and Benin

The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) has transferred four convicts to serve their sentences in Mali and four to Benin.  Yusuf Munyakazi, Tharcise Renzaho, Dominique Ntawukukukyayo and Théoneste Bagosora were transferred to Mali, while Aloys Ntabakuze, Ildephonse Hategekimana, Gaspard Kanyarukiga and Callixte Kalimanzira will serve their sentences in Benin. 

The ICTR has made other transfers in recent months, with three other convicts having been transferred to Benin on 20 March, bringing the total number of convicts serving sentences to 14, while another 19 are serving theirs in Mali. According to a press release issued by the tribunal, two convicts, Jean Bosco Barayagwiza and Georges Rutuganda, who were serving a 32 year sentence and a life sentence, died on 25 of April 2010 and 11 October 2010, respectively, in Benin. 

(Adapted from a UN Press Release) (mew)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ICTR Transfers Convicts to Mail and Benin:


Post a comment