Sunday, March 11, 2012

New ICC Judges Sworn In

Five new judges of the International Criminal Court were sworn in following their election last December at the last session of the assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute.

Judges Howard Morrison of United Kingdom, Anthony T. Carmona of Trinidad and Tobago, Olga Herrera Carbuccia of Dominican Republic, Robert Fremr of Czech Republic and Chile Eboe-Osuji of Nigeria will serve nine-year terms in the International Criminal Court.  Judge Miriam Defensor-Santiago of the Philippines, who was also elected in December, was not available to take the oath of office this week and will be sworn in at a later date.

(mew) (Adapted from a UN Press Release)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference New ICC Judges Sworn In:


Post a comment