Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Sudan and South Sudan Sign a Peace Treaty

The governments of Sudan and South Sudan have signed a "Memorandum of Understanding on Non-Aggression and Cooperation."  The peace treaty was signed in the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa, on Friday.  It calls for the respect for each other’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, non-interference in the internal affairs, and rejects the use of force in relations between the two countries.

South Sudan became an independent State last July, six months after its people voted overwhelmingly to secede from Sudan.  Tensions between the two countries over unresolved border disagreements have simmered since, with a dispute over tariffs charged by Sudan on South Sudan for the use of a pipeline and port to export oil recently further straining relations.

(mew) (adapted from a UN Press Release)

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Sudan and South Sudan Sign a Peace Treaty:


Post a comment