Thursday, February 16, 2012

Conference for LL.M. Administrators

The Registration site is now up and running for the inaugural LLM Administrators’ Conference at American University Washington College of Law on Thursday, May 3 and Friday, May 4, 2012.  Although the agenda is not set yet, the organizers expect that there will be a few plenary sections and some breakout sessions on specialized topics.  Topics covered will include LLM admissions, marketing, academic advising, career advising, international students issues, and LL.M. integration in the law school community.  Topics will focus on both U.S. and foreign-trained LL.M. students.  The conference is open to all administrators and faculty who work with LLM students, applicants, and alumni.

The Conference website is  At the website, you can register for the conference, obtain information about hotel blocks, and submit panel proposals.  Please register and submit panel proposals as soon as you know that you will be able to attend.  Whether the organizers will offer concurrent sessions will depend on the number of people registered and the number of proposals that we receive, so early registration and proposal submission is critical.    

The registration fee for the conference will be $100, which will help defray the cost of breakfast both days, a networking luncheon, coffee breaks, and program materials. On Thursday night there will be some kind of pay-on-your-own dinner.  For planning purposes, the conference will begin at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday and end before lunch on Friday. 

Here are the names of the conference planning committee members:

LLM Administrators’ Conference Planning Committees


  • Bill Churma, American University Washington College of Law
  • Amy Lutgens, Hamline University School of Law
  • Cristina Gapasin, Northwestern University School of Law
  • Patrick Cassidy, Northeastern University School of Law
  • Joseph Schneider, SUNY Buffalo Law School

 Academic Advising

  • Amy Sugin, Cardozo School of Law
  • Karen McMichael, Temple University Beasley School of Law
  • Yvette Gutierrez, St. John’s University School of Law
  • Khary Hornsby, University of Minnesota School of Law
  • Mark Shulman, Pace University School of Law
  • Anne Dries, Emory University School of law


  • Cathy Schenker, American University Washington College of Law
  • Ron Rosenberg, William & Mary Law School
  • Carrie Feeheley, MSU College of Law
  • Elena Helmer, Ohio Northern University College of Law
  • Sherhernaz Joshi, George Washington University Law School


  • Hilary Lappin, American University Washington College of Law
  • Lisa Kaplan, Atlanta's John Marshall Law School
  • Anthony Doyle, Widener University School of Law
  • Susan Wawrose, University of Dayton School of Law
  • Anne Marlenga, USC Gould School of Law
  • Polly Lawson, University of Virginia School of Law

Thursday night dinner

  • David Dye, University of Oklahoma School of law
  • Amy Lutjens, Hamline University School of Law
  • Cathy Schencker, American University Washington College of Law

 Career Advising

  • Jessica Dworkin, The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law
  • Amy Tenney, American University Washington College of Law
  • Roza Pati, St. Thomas University School of Law
  • Skip Horne, University of San Diego School of Law

Hat tips to Amy Tenney and Hilary Lappin


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Conference for LL.M. Administrators:


Post a comment