Monday, May 24, 2010

Professor Michael Scharf Elected as New Chair of ILSA

Scharf, Michael Professor Michael Scharf (pictured at left) was elected today as Chair of the International Law Students Association (ILSA),the organization that brings us the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition. 

Professor Scharf is the John Deaver Drinko-Baker & Hostetler Professor of Law, Director of the Frederick K. Cox International Law Center at Case Western Reserve University School of Law, and Director of the Summer Institute for Global Justice. He is also co-founder of the Public International Law & Policy Group (PILPG), a Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) that provides pro bono legal assistance to developing states and states in transition.

Professor Scharf succeeds Professor Leila Sadat (Washington University School of Law--St. Louis), who completed her successful two-year term as Chair of ILSA this afternoon.  She continues as a member of the ILSA Board.

Peil, Michael Also elected today to the ILSA Board is Michael A. Peil, Associate Dean for International Programs at Washington University School of Law.  Michael Peil is a former executive director of ILSA and a contributing editor to this blog (he's the guy in the picture on the right). 

Other individuals elected to new, three-year terms on the ILSA Board today were Russell Dalferes and Stephanie Farrior.

Re-elected to three-year terms today were Pedro Muñoz of Costa Rica and Sandra Hodgkinson.

Other members of the ILSA Board are 

  • William Aceves
  • Kelly Askin
  • Dagmar Butte
  • Brian Havel
  • Cynthia Lichtenstein
  • Ved Nanda
  • Claire van Overdijk
  • Mark E. Wojcik (hey, that's me!)

To learn more about ILSA and to support its work, click here.


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Professor Michael Scharf Elected as New Chair of ILSA:


congratulations to you all!

Posted by: David Stewart | May 25, 2010 5:57:53 AM

Post a comment