Tuesday, November 3, 2009

All European Union Member States Have Agreed to Lisbon Treaty

EU Flag Czech President Vaclav Klaus signed the Lisbon Treaty today, clearing the way for the new constitution for Europe to take effect.  The document has already been accepted by all the other 26 EU Member States.  The next step will be the holding of an EU summit. The treaty could take effect as early as next month.  Among other changes intended to deepen integration of the EU Member States, the treaty creates two important new posts: a full-time President and a High Representative for Foreign Affairs.



| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Listed below are links to weblogs that reference All European Union Member States Have Agreed to Lisbon Treaty:


Post a comment