Wednesday, July 1, 2009

ICTR Prisoners Transferred to Benin to Serve Remainder of Sentences

ICTR Logo The International Criminal Court for Rwanda (ICTR) was established under Chapter VII of the U.N. Charter to try those responsible for the worst crimes committed during the Rwandan genocide in 1994.  The ICTR announced today that nine prisoners have been transferred from the U.N. detention facility in Tanzania to the nation of Benin, where the prisoners will serve the remainder of their jail sentences.

The nine convicted criminals – nearly all of whom were given lengthy sentences – are Georges Rutaganda, Gerard Ntakirutimana, Juvenal Kajelijeli, Emmanuel Ndindabahizi, Jean-Bosco Barayagwiza, Aloys Simba, Juvenal Rugambarara, Athanase Seromba and François Karera.

Mr. Rutaganda, Mr. Ndindabahizi, Mr. Seromba and Mr. Karera are all serving life terms for their crimes, while Mr. Kajelijeli was sentenced to 45 years in prison and Mr. Barayagwiza to 32 years. Both Mr. Ntakirutimana and Mr. Simba were given 25-year jail terms, while Mr. Rugambarara is serving an 11-year sentence.

The ICTR was set up by the Security Council in the wake of the genocide, in which an estimated 800,000 ethnic Tutsis and Hutu moderates were killed, mainly by machete, during a period of less than 100 days starting in early April 1994.

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ICTR Prisoners Transferred to Benin to Serve Remainder of Sentences:


Post a comment