Monday, April 6, 2009

Five European Countries Will Now Allow Same-Sex Marriage

Sweden Sweden has recognized same-sex civil unions since 1994.  Civil unions are thought to be the equivalent of same-sex marriage but they have always fallen short in the legal benefits conferred and the social status they enjoyed.  But last week, the Swedish Parliament decided to rectify the situation by voting to allow same-sex marriages in Sweden as of May 1st.  Sweden will become the fifth European country to recognize same-sex marriage:  the other countries are Belgium, the Netherlands, Norway, and Spain.  Individual churches in Sweden will still have the right to decide wheter to perform same-sex marriage ceremonies.

Meanwhile, the Iowa Supreme Court also ruled last week that same-sex couples in that state have the right to marry.  Click here to read a copy of the Iowa Supreme Court decision.


| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Five European Countries Will Now Allow Same-Sex Marriage:


Post a comment