Friday, August 3, 2012

Immigration Legislation By States Dropped 20% in First Half of 2012

Immigration-related bills and resolutions dropped by 20 percent during the first half of 2012 compared to the first half of 2011, according to a new report from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL). The report is being released in conjunction with NCSL’s Legislative Summit in Chicago, Ill. Embargoed copies of the report are available to reporters who agree not to publish before 12:01 a.m. local time on Monday, Aug. 6. Conditions of the embargo are that no stories featuring data and information from the report may appear in print or online until 12:01 a.m. local time on Mon., Aug. 6.

According to the report, lawmakers in 41 states enacted 114 bills and adopted 92 resolutions dealing with immigration in the first half of 2012. This marks a decrease of 20 percent from the 257 laws and resolutions enacted in the first half of 2011. Multiple reasons exist for the decline in immigration-related legislation and are explained in the report. The report, from NCSL’s Immigrant Policy Project, is embargoed until 12:01 a.m., local time, Monday, Aug. 6.

To request a copy of the embargoed report, email NCSL's Press Room.  press-room@ncsl.org

A press conference dealing with the report will be held on Monday, Aug. 6 at 3:30 p.m. ET; 2:30 p.m. CT; 1:30 p.m. MT, 12:30 p.m. PT from NCSL’s Legislative Summit in Chicago. State lawmakers and the report's author will answer questions about the report and immigration legislation in the states. Reporters not attending NCSL's Legislative Summit may also participate in the Monday afternoon press conference via conference call.

KJ

http://lawprofessors.typepad.com/immigration/2012/08/immigration-legislation-by-states-dropped-20-in-first-half-of-2012.html

Current Affairs | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341bfae553ef01676908285c970b

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Immigration Legislation By States Dropped 20% in First Half of 2012 :