HealthLawProf Blog

Editor: Katharine Van Tassel
Concordia University School of Law

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Results of the 2013-14 National Health Law Competition

Here is news from W. Eugene Basanta, Southern Illinois Healthcare Professor and Director, Center for Health Law and Policy, Southern Illinois University School of Law:

The 2013-14 National Health Law Competition was held at the Southern Illinois University School of Law in Carbondale on November 1 and 2, 2013. In its twenty second year, the Competition was again sponsored by SIU’s Center for Health Law and Policy, the SIU School of Medicine’s Department of Medical Humanities, the American College of Legal Medicine, and the ACLM Foundation. Twenty nine teams from twenty three law schools competed this year.  

The team of Alex Silagi and Christina Yousef from Seton Hall University School of Law won the competition in an outstanding final round against Elizabeth Isaacs and Elsie Puma from University of Oklahoma College of Law. The team from Georgia State University College of Law, including Kara Gordon, Janelle Alleyne, and Nivi Shah finished third. The team of Jessica Robinson, Brandon Jackson, and Matthew Ward representing Faulkner University School of Law submitted the best appellate brief. The ACLM’s Journal of Legal Medicine will publish the winning brief in the December, 2014 issue.

The second best brief was submitted by the Seton Hall team, while the best preliminary round and overall oralist awards went to Alex Silagi from Seton Hall.  

The judges for the final round included Judge Julio Fuentes of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; Judge Patrick Murphy of the Federal District Court for the Southern District of Illinois; Professor Anita Bernstein from Brooklyn Law School, who authored this year’s problem (which involved the use of social media and a physician’s First Amendment free speech rights as well as Health Care Quality Improvement Act immunity); and Victoria Green, MD, JD, the current president of the American College of Legal Medicine.  

Thanks to all of the teams and coaches and congratulations to the winning teams.

 The 2014-15 Competition is tentatively scheduled for November 7 and 8.

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Results of the 2013-14 National Health Law Competition:


Post a comment