HealthLawProf Blog

Editor: Katharine Van Tassel
Concordia University School of Law

Sunday, February 7, 2010

The CMS "Five Star" Rating System for Nursing Homes

The CMS “five-star” nursing home rating system gives nursing homes participating in Medicare and Medicaid programs a star rating that varies from 1 to 5.

Hat tip to Peter Leibold of the AHLA LTC List who passed the following on from Ric Henry of Pendulum LLC:

[The five star rating system] is derived from three data sources: health survey inspections, quality measures, and the nurse staffing information from the most recent health survey inspection. The tables below show the separate star ratings under each of these domains.

Overall Ratings
Nurse Staffing Ratings
Health Inspection Ratings
Quality Measures Ratings

These tables are produced using data files currently available on Nursing Home Compare, and are updated monthly. The latest update is: Jan. 21, 2010.

| Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference The CMS "Five Star" Rating System for Nursing Homes:


Post a comment