Wednesday, December 13, 2017
This is the eleventh in a series of posts on the "51-To-Life" Project. In Tennessee, if a juvenile is convicted of first-degree murder, there are two sentencing options: (1) life without the possibility of parole; or (2) life with the possibility of parole, with that possibility only existing after the juvenile has been incarcerated for 51 years. In this post, I will explain why Georgia treats juvenile homicide offenders better than Tennessee.
Pursuant to Section 17-10-6.1(c)(1) of the Georgia Code,
Except as otherwise provided in subsection (c) of Code Section 42-9-39, for a first conviction of a serious violent felony in which the accused has been sentenced to life imprisonment, that person shall not be eligible for any form of parole or early release administered by the State Board of Pardons and Paroles until that person has served a minimum of 30 years in prison. The minimum term of imprisonment shall not be reduced by any earned time, early release, work release, leave, or other sentence-reducing measures under programs administered by the Department of Corrections.
Therefore, a juvenile homicide offender in Georgia could be released after serving 30 years in prison. As a result, Georgia treats juvenile homicide offenders better than Tennessee.