Monday, June 26, 2006

ABA SEER Teleconference on Rapanos

American Bar Association
Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources
Water Quality and Wetlands Committee
Presents a “Quick Teleconference” program
Rapanos and Carabell: What Do They Mean To Your Practice?
Thursday, July 6, 2006
2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Eastern Time / 1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Central Time
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Mountain Time / 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Pacific Time
Program Overview:
On June 19, 2006 the U.S. Supreme Court decided the much anticipated cases of Rapanos v. United States and Carabell v. United States Army Corps of Engineers. Join our experts who will discuss what the U.S. Supreme Court’s recent decision means to Clean Water Act (CWA) / Wetlands practitioners and their clients. In its third-ever substantive review of CWA 404, the U.S. Supreme Court has addressed issues of crucial importance to the conservation and regulated communities. The Court’s decision will impact numerous entities from all persuasions, from government regulators and municipalities to environmental groups and land trusts, to farmers and agribusiness, to quarries, oil and gas companies and drillers, real estate developers and construction contractors. In addition, this decision may be a harbinger of things to come in environmental cases from a new Supreme Court.

Moderator:
Professor Richard J. Lazarus, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington, DC
Panelists:
John Cruden, Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Environment and Natural Resources Division, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, DC
Jan Goldman-Carter, Attorney Representing National Wildlife Federation and Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Edina, MN
M. Reed Hopper, Principal Attorney, Pacific Legal Foundation (representing John Rapanos), Sacramento, CA

Thursday, July 6, 2006
2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Eastern 
1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Central
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Mountain 
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Pacific
Registration

http://lawprofessors.typepad.com/environmental_law/2006/06/aba_seer_teleco_1.html

Water Quality | Permalink

TrackBack URL for this entry:

http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341bfae553ef00d8352f00e153ef

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference ABA SEER Teleconference on Rapanos: